Founding Endorsers of the Responsive Communitarian Platform

Signatures signify that we are of one mind on the broad thrust of this platform and the necessity of this intervention into the current dialogue, without necessarily agreeing to every single, specific statement.

Enola Aird, Activist mother, Connecticut

Rodolfo Alvarez, University of California, Los Angeles

John B. Anderson, Presidential Candidate, 1980

Benjamin R. Barber, Rutgers University; signing with exception to moral education section

Robert N. Bellah, University of California, Berkeley

Warren Bennis, University of Southern California

Janice M. Beyer, University of Texas, Austin; signing with exception to the family section

David Blankenhorn, President, Institute for American Values

John E. Brandl, University of Minnesota; former Minnesota State Senator, Representative

Joan Bronk, Former President, National Council of Jewish Women

Christine K. Cassel, The University of Chicago

James Childress, University of Virginia

Bryce J. Christensen, President, The Family in America, The Rockford Institute

Henry Cisneros, Former Mayor, San Antonio, Texas

John C. Coffee, Columbia University Law School

David Cohen, Co-Director, Advocacy Institute

Anthony E. Cook, Georgetown University Law School

Harvey Cox, Harvard Divinity School; signing with exception to cleaning up the polity section

Thomas E. Cronin, Colorado College

William D’Antonio, Catholic University

Dennis DeLeon, Commissioner and Chairman, New York City Commission on Human Rights

Thomas Donaldson, Georgetown University

Joseph Duffey, President, The American University

Thomas W. Dunfee, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Stuart E. Eizenstat, Attorney, Washington, D.C.

Lloyd Elliott, President Emeritus, George Washington University

Jean Bethke Elshtain, Vanderbilt University

Amitai Etzioni, The George Washington University

Chester E. Finn, Jr., Vanderbilt University

James Fishkin, University of Texas, Austin

Carol Tucker Foreman, Partner, Foreman & Heidepriem

Betty Friedan, New York City

Francis Fukuyama, The Rand Corporation

William A. Galston, University of Maryland

John W. Gardner, Stanford University

Neil Gilbert, University of California, Berkeley

J. Richard Gilliland, President, Metropolitan Community College, Omaha, Nebraska

Mary Ann Glendon, Harvard Law School

T. George Harris, New York, NY

David K. Hart, Brigham Young University

F. Barton Harvey III, The Enterprise Foundation

Jeffrey R. Henig, George Washington University

Albert O. Hirschman, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton

James Hunter, University of Virginia

Nicholas deB. Katzenbach, Attorney, Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland & Perretti, and former Attorney General of the United States

Daniel Kemmis, Mayor, Missoula, Montana; signing with exception to second amendment section

Lawrence J. Korb, The Brookings Institution

Joyce A. Ladner, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Howard University

Hillel Levine, Boston University

George C. Lodge, Harvard Business School

Malcolm Lovell, Jr., President, National Planning Association

Duncan MacRae, Jr., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Frank Mankiewicz, Vice Chairman, Hill and Knowlton

Gary Marx, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Thomas McCollough, Duke University

Sanford N. McDonnell, Chairman Emeritus, McDonnell Douglas

John L. McKnight, Northwestern University

Catherine Milton, Executive Director, The Commission on National and Community Service

Newton N. Minow, Former F.C.C. Chairman; Attorney, Chicago, Illinois

Charles Moskos, Northwestern University

Ilene H. Nagel, U.S. Sentencing Commission and Indiana University

William C. Norris, Chairman, William C. Norris Institute, Minneapolis, Minnesota

John Parr, President, National Civic League

Orlando Patterson, Harvard University

Michael Pertschuk, Co-Director, Advocacy Institute

Sylvia L. Peters, Founding Partner, The Edison Project

Chase N. Peterson, President-Emeritus, University of Utah

Grethe B. Peterson, University of Utah

Terry Pinkard, Georgetown University

David Popenoe, Rutgers University

Alejandro Portes, Johns Hopkins University

Lonnie C. Rich, City Council Member, Alexandria, Virginia

Elliot L. Richardson, Partner, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy and former Attorney General of the United States

David Riesman, Harvard University; signing with exception to cleaning up the polity section

Alice S. Rossi, Former President, American Sociological Association; Amherst, Massachusetts

William D. Ruckelshaus, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Browning-Ferris Industries; Houston, Texas

George Rupp, President, Rice University

David Rusk, Former Mayor, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Isabel Sawhill, Senior Fellow, The Urban Institute

Kurt L. Schmoke, Mayor of Baltimore

Claudine Schneider, Chair of the Board, Renew America

Richard F. Schubert, President & CEO, Points of Light Foundation

William F. Schulz, President, Unitarian Universalist Association

Philip Selznick, University of California, Berkeley

Albert Shanker, President, American Federation of Teachers

Fred Siegel, Cooper Union

Gillian Martin Sorensen, President, National Conference of Christians and Jews, Inc.

Thomas Spragens, Jr., Duke University

Margaret O’Brien Steinfels, Editor, Commonweal

Adlai E. Stevenson, Chicago, Illinois

Peter L. Strauss, Columbia University

William Sullivan, LaSalle University

Robert Theobald, New Orleans, Louisiana

Lester C. Thurow, Dean, Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Daniel Thursz, President, The National Council on the Aging

Kenneth Tollett, Howard University

Barbara Dafoe Whitehead, Amherst, Massachusetts

Dennis H. Wrong, New York University

Daniel Yankelovich, President, Public Agenda Foundation

American Alliance for Rights and Responsibilities

The affiliations and titles of those who have endorsed the platform are listed as they were at the time the platform was endorsed.

Organizations are listed for identification only.

View the list of new endorsers. To endorse the Responsive Communitarian Platform, send an email to [email protected] with the subject “Endorse RCP.”